Nobody’s Perfect (Not Even My Dog)

03Sep10

Practice does not make perfect.  Only perfect practice makes perfect.                -Vincent T Lombardi

At one time or another, a person may struggle with trying to be perfect.  Whether its pressure from one’s parent(s), peers, or him-/herself, an individual often worries over his or her performance and others’ perceptions.  Throughout the younger years, my parents applied constant pressure on their daughters.  Of the three, I was the one who struggled the most to live up to their expectations.  For example, my grades were not as good as my two sisters.  They even had to put me in my aunt’s classroom in elementary school to “steer me straight.”  When it was time to head to college, both sisters got accepted to a prestigious university, whereas I ended up at a state college.  I sure got pressured a lot over those years.  (*sigh*…I know I’m not the only one with difficult parents!)   

It’s been many years since I’ve lived at home or in an apartment with my sisters.  And, I am the first out of all three sisters to get a Master’s degree! 

Almost a year ago, we decided to get a dog.  His name is “Osho” and he has a great personality.  One thing I read about Yorkies, the males are easier to train since they are more willing to please.  Yet, when I got him at about 3 months, we had a very difficult time with potty training him.  We were spending a lot of money on pee pads and cleaners.  I was very frustrated with his not knowing where to go.   What was I doing wrong and why was he still not potty-trained?!  (Ugh…sounds familiar…)

Osho just turned a year old last week and he is able to wait all night (or all day while I’m at work) before being let outside to relieve himself.  Actually, he is so smart that he mastered climbing over two baby gates last week.  Today, I came home and he escaped the bathroom.  I must have been in a rush to leave and didn’t close the door all the way.  He chewed on a toothpaste box, tore up some tissue that was in the trash, and “played” with my lingerie.  As nobody’s perfect (not even my dog), I can’t be mad at him.  To think of it, he could have chewed up some of my nice shoes instead.  Although we are still working on the “paw shakes,” he knows how to play fetch, sit, lay down, wait before eating, and balance a treat on his nose!     

Through these experiences, I have learned that those we care about, we often place a high level of expectation on them.  We may have good intentions not realizing the pressure it puts on our loved one(s).  By remembering that nobody’s perfect, I can best avoid keeping those I love from being able to grow and trying new things.  One day, all this practice just might make perfect practice 😉 

Your thoughts?

3 Responses to “Nobody’s Perfect (Not Even My Dog)”

  1. 1 waco

    another football coach–not accomplished like mr. Lombardi–said something like searching for perfection is a great mistake. you put too much pressure on yourself trying to achieve the unachievable. instead i strive for excellence

  2. I think its a fine line. Making sure to show someone you love them no matter what while also urging them to do better. There are too many kids out there now that are not encouraged to accomplish anything at all, how is that going to play out when they have to fend for themselves?


Leave a Reply

