Learn From The [K]Yung

18Nov10

My only-worn-once golf shoes!

Perhaps you might not feel the same as I but it seems as if the younger generation (Gen-Ys) do not share the same values as the older generations (Gen-Xs and beyond).  In fact, there is a lack of respect, responsibility, and manners in many of the youth that I run across today.  But, yesterday I came across an article that reminded me that stereotypes are generalizations and not standards.

Specifically, I’m speaking about the 22 year-old female golfer who donated her entire winnings, $220,000 to be exact, to charity.  She’s a native Korean, who as a teen came to the States alone to attend the Hank Haney International Junior Golf Academy.  Her name is In-Kyung Kim and she just won the 2010 Lorena Ochoa Invitational.  Actually, this past Sunday’s tournament is her third career LPGA title win.

Most of us don’t have hundreds of thousands of dollars to give away, yet we want to give back to the community in a big way–such as giving away large sums of money.  Yet, these days most of us are cash-strapped.  Nonetheless, whether big or small, acts of kindness make significant impact on others.

I recently put a pair of my golf shoes for sale on Craigslist.  (no I’m not a golfer, I only wore them once!) The very next day, I got a message from a high school coach who offered me half of what I wanted.  Half, you might be thinking??!  Actually, without having even talking to him, I knew he was buying the shoes (and not with funds from the school budget).  I agreed to the offer with the simple understanding that supporting teens doing something productive is important.  Golf pro, dedicated high school coach, customer service rep…it does not matter what our roles are, each of us can make a positive impact on the lives of others!

What’s your most recent act of kindness??!

No Responses Yet to “Learn From The [K]Yung”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

